Crosby ISD asks voters to approve $208 million bond package
Crosby ISD's Board of Trustees approved two bond propositions totaling $208.28 million on August 17, 2026, placing them before voters in the November 3, 2026 election. The bonds would cost taxpayers $411 million with interest.
Earlier story. First reported Oct 21, 2026 at 5:47 pm; added to this site Oct 23, 2026. Details may have changed since.
- When it happened
- Tuesday, November 3, 2026 election
- Where
- Crosby ISD (Harris County)
- First reported by an outlet
- Oct 21, 2026 at 5:47 pm
- Confirmed by
- 2 independent outlets
Taxes & money
| What | Amount | Who pays |
|---|---|---|
| Proposition A bond principal for new elementary school and campus improvements | $98.28 million[2] | Crosby ISD taxpayers |
| Proposition A bond cost with interest | $194.11 million[2] | Crosby ISD taxpayers |
| Proposition B bond principal for new middle school | $110 million[2] | Crosby ISD taxpayers |
| Proposition B bond cost with interest | $217.3 million[2] | Crosby ISD taxpayers |
| Total bond propositions before voters | $208.28 million[2] | Crosby ISD taxpayers |
| Total bond cost with interest | $411 million[2] | Crosby ISD taxpayers |
| Crosby ISD outstanding debt principal | $164.1 million[2] | Not stated |
| Crosby ISD remaining interest obligations | $84.9 million[2] | Not stated |
| Projected annual tax increase for home with taxable value of $115,728 | $23.15[2] | homeowner |
| Projected monthly tax increase for home with taxable value of $115,728 | $1.93[2] | homeowner |
Who's involved
- Crosby ISD Board of Trustees · approved the bond election on August 17, 2026[2]
The facts
- Crosby ISD's Board of Trustees approved two bond propositions on August 17, 2026, placing them before voters.[2]
- Proposition A would authorize $98.28 million ($194.11 million with interest) for construction of a new elementary school and improvements to existing campuses, including roof replacements, HVAC upgrades, security systems and technology infrastructure.[2]
- The proposed new elementary school would initially accommodate approximately 750 prekindergarten through fifth grade students, with space designed for future expansion to 950 students.[2]
- According to the district, most elementary campuses are projected to exceed capacity by 2029.[2]
- Proposition B would authorize $110 million ($217.3 million with interest) to construct a new middle school to replace Crosby Middle School, which was built in 1974.[2]
- The proposed middle school would initially serve approximately 1,100 seventh and eighth grade students, with facilities designed to accommodate up to 1,500 students in grades six through eight.[2]
- The district cited aging infrastructure and ongoing engineering investigations into Crosby Middle School's foundation, roof and mechanical systems as reasons for the proposed replacement.[2]
- Crosby ISD already carries $164.1 million in outstanding debt principal and $84.9 million in remaining interest obligations, totaling approximately $249 million combined.[2]
- The district estimates the bond package would increase its debt service tax rate by approximately two cents, from $0.48 to $0.50 per $100 of taxable property value.[2]
- Early voting began October 19, 2026 and continues through October 30, 2026, with Election Day on November 3, 2026.[2]
Who said what
- A political action committee called All In For Crosby promoted the bond propositions on Facebook, but has not yet filed a campaign finance report with the Texas Ethics Commission[2]
Sources
- News Not rated Crosby ISD residents question proposed $208 million bond Baytown Sun · Oct 21, 2026
- News Not rated Crosby ISD Seeks $208 Million in Bonds for New Schools Texas Scorecard · Oct 22, 2026
Written by AI from the sources above, under fixed rules: every fact is cited, claims are kept apart from facts, and dollar figures appear only when a source states them. Mistakes get corrected in public.